Tel:
Email: jeremy@alljewishtheatre.org

Playwright Community Conversations

AJT’s May 2021 3rd Playwright Community Conversation

We invite our AJT Member playwrights to join us for AJT’s Third Playwright Community Conversation (May 2021) on Thursday, May 27 at 4pm – 5:30pm Eastern (1pm – 2:30pm Pacific).

This third Playwright Community Conversation will be led by Jesse Bernstein, AJT Board Secretary and Associate Artistic Director of Theatre Ariel. The third session’s discussion will focus on exploring playwright problems “beyond writer’s block”.

With a focus on networking, we’ll all engage in conversation with different groups, each spurred by provocative questions such as: How do you handle character problems in your script? Suggestions for a great submission? Best advice for working with a director? Why or why don’t you consider yourself a ‘Jewish playwright’?

This session will put attendees in multiple different rooms throughout the gathering so that you can get to know numerous people.

Please RSVP to jeremy@alljewishtheatre.org


Past Events:

April 2021 - Playwright Community Conversation #2

April 2021 – Playwright Community Conversation #2 Details

We invite our AJT Member playwrights to join us for AJT’s Second Playwright Community Conversation (April 2021) on Thursday, April 22nd, 3pm – 4:30pm Eastern Time (12pm – 1:30pm Pacific Time, 1pm – 2:30pm Mountain Time, 2pm – 3:30pm Central Time, 8pm – 9:30pm London Time, 10pm – 11:30 Israel Time).

This second Playwright Community Conversation will be led by Jacqueline Goldfinger; Playwright, Dramaturg, Granada Artist-in-Residence at UC Davis. The second session’s discussion will focus on networking and promotion.

How can you authentically network with communities and leaders? What are the best ways to organize information so you can remain consistent and active? What tools and resources are out there for self-promotion? How can we rethink these terms to make them activities we enjoy?

Each month we will pick a new topic and a new leader.

The AJT Community Conversations are peer-led community gatherings designed for artists to convene and talk about strategies, solutions, and ideas for professional growth. Our goal with AJT’s Playwright Community Conversations is to collect playwrights together in a brave space where you can be open, honest, and vulnerable with one another and learn from your colleagues and peers.

RSVP by emailing jeremy@alljewishtheatre.org if you are able to attend.

March 2021 - Playwright Community Conversation #1

We invite our AJT Member playwrights to join us for AJT’s First Playwright Community Conversation (March 2021) on Tuesday, March 23 at 3pm Eastern Time (12pm Pacific Time, 1pm Mountain Time, 2pm Central Time, 7pm London Time, 9pm Israel Time).

This first Playwright Community Conversation will be led by Wendy Kout, AJT Vice President, who is an award-winning writer/producer of stage, screen, and television, and a producer of progressive issue fundraisers. This first session’s discussion will focus on the building and expansion of AJT’s playwright community and identifying development, fellowship, and production opportunities. What lessons did you learn this last year? What new opportunities did you find? What are the residencies? Fellowships? ListServs out there for playwrights? How can you best utilize New Play Network (NNPN)? How do you connect to theatre companies? Artistic leaders? Pitch your plays?

Each month we will pick a new topic and a new leader.

The AJT Community Conversation are peer-led community gatherings designed for artists to convene and talk about strategies, solutions, and ideas for professional growth. Our goal with AJT’s Playwright Taking Circle is to collect playwrights together in a brave space where you can be open, honest, and vulnerable with one another and learn from your colleagues and peers.

RSVP by emailing jeremy@alljewishtheatre.org if you are able to attend.

Conference

AJT’s 2021 Virtual Conference was Sunday, October 24 through Tuesday, October 26 Information for AJT’s 2022 Conference will begin to come out next year. Sign-up for our email list to […]

Read More
Membership

WHY JOIN AJT? Your membership provides exclusive access to webinars, conversations, international performances and peer meetings while sharing your story with Jewish organizations and professionals around the world. Join or […]

Read More
Support AJT

Support AJT. Why is donated money needed? To assure involvement and participation by theatres large and small, and by theatre artists who are emerging or established, we keep our membership […]

Read More
Individuals

Check out our members – a cross-section of playwrights, directors, artistic directors, dramaturgs, critics, and other practitioners of Jewish theatre: Members: Want to update your page? Don’t have a page […]

Read More
Theatres

Check out our member theatres – a wide array of performing arts organizations around the world, with a focus or interest in Jewish theatre. Members: Want to update your page? […]

Read More